5 Clever Uses for Baking Soda

It amazes me how much you can do with baking soda!! I only used baking soda for baking, before I got TOMS shoes.

I was so excited that I wore my shoes all day every day! With no socks. Gross. After that my feet and my shoes stunk!!

I asked everyone I knew, what I should do to remove the stench. Many said it was hopeless, and that I should have worn socks! So of course I invested in “no show” socks, but that didn’t help much. So after researching online, I discovered the magical powers of baking soda. I read that by pouring baking soda into an old rag, tying it up and sticking it on your shoe, it dries up all the moisture and bacteria, thus removing the smell of stinky feet! Needless to say I still have my TOMS ๐Ÿ™‚ However, the baking soda can crack the sole of your TOMS if the two make contact.

After this shoe-saving discovery, I found more great uses for baking soda!

Number two is a refreshing facial or body scrub-not very surprising but still great! Create a simple paste of three parts baking soda and one part water. Exfoliate away! Rinse clean and be sure to avoid your eyes! Your skin will be so soft…and for so cheap!

Number three is toothpaste. Growing up I remember my family buying Toms toothpaste (baking soda and Toms are apparently a good mix!) Being so young, I thought it was disgusting. But as I’ve grown older, I’ve learned that a lot of toothpastes include baking soda as one of their ingredients! Certain kinds of Crest and Colgate toothpaste include baking soda for teeth cleaning and whitening.

Bug bites are so incredibly obnoxious. The other night something decided to munch on my leg! The bite was large, but I was able to conquer the itch with baking soda. That’s where use number four comes in. I made a paste with baking soda and water, and applied it to the bite. The swelling went down and my itch was gone!

Baking soda goes a long way when it comes to odor. If you’ve got furry cuddling kitties this ones for you! I love my cats. I have two of them. And sometimes the litter box goes too long without cleaning. So gross.ย  Cover the bottom of the pan with baking soda, then top off with cat litter. To keep it fresh between cleanings, sprinkle a little on top once you’ve removed all those almond rocas!! ๐Ÿ™‚ A lot of cat litter is now made with baking soda to reduce the strong odor, but it’s a lot cheaper to buy baking soda on your own!

694ff8cce42c11e2a07e22000a1f9a28_7photo

Nala and Petrie

I hope you’ve learned something new, and continue to make wonderful baking soda discoveries on your own!

Leave a Reply

